It’s Random Act of Kindness Day! Participate?

Opportunities to help our brothers and sisters present themselves constantly in life. Someone leaves their phone on the counter at your work, do you run after them? A stranger drops a dollar bill and continues walking, do tell them or pocket the new-found money? Here is an example of a recent opportunity I encountered to share some kindness.

Yesterday I was driving across a busy bridge that crosses a highway and river in my hometown. My car was nearly to the end of the bridge and I was about to enter a large and busy intersection at the end of the bridge. Something to my left caught my eye and I looked over to see a blind man feeling his way slowly onto the bridge into oncoming traffic. I looked around to assess the potential harm in the situation. Traffic in the direction which the man was headed saw him, but the red light that was holding the traffic in place was about to tell them to proceed. Without anymore thought, I stopped my car in the middle of the bridge, turned on my warning lights, got out of the car, ran into the oncoming traffic and approached the man.

After walking the man to the side of the road, I asked him where he was headed. He then told me that he had accidentally wandered off the route he was following. I then helped the man find his path again and ran back to my car (still paused, holding up a rather large line of cars).

I have heard many stories of people risking their lives for complete strangers, and have always attempted to imagine myself in these situations. The truth is, it is more than difficult to picture what your reaction will be to an opportunity for kindness because the human mind is incredibly unpredictable. The best we can do is walk through life practicing kindness in the smallest ways; running after that stranger to return her cell-phone, stopping that man to give him the dollar bill he dropped. Acts of kindness- pure, without expectation of reward, provide a feeling of utter serenity. This feeling is indescribable.

A tree is known by its fruit; a man by his deeds. A good deed is never lost; he who sows courtesy reaps friendship, and he who plants kindness gathers love. -Saint Basil

2 thoughts on “It’s Random Act of Kindness Day! Participate?

  1. Pingback: Back from a Big Blogging Break! | Two Hands Create Change

Leave a Reply

