Happy Art 4 U

I recently attended a dance for a local company that assists people with mental disabilities. The local company, which is called MOSIAC, is a wonderful program which enables people with intellectual disabilities to live as independently as possible. “We believe that every individual is a person of worth. Together Mosaic staff members, volunteers and the people we support work as partners.” -The MOSAIC web site

This dance was the most fun I have had on a Friday night in a long time. Everyone who was on the dance floor was so carefree, just wiggling around in their own bubbles, strewn across the dance floor. When Backstreet Boys came on the stereo everyone went WILD! It was nice to be around a group of people that still appreciated Howie as much as I used to.

While I was taking a “wall sitting” break and getting some lemonade, an intellectually disabled man approached me and began telling me about his life. As we both drank our glasses of lemonade, he told me about his girlfriend, his family and his job as an online artist. When he was finished telling me about his life, he began asking my about my life. He was the most sincere man that I have ever met; I could tell that he genuinely cared about my life.

When it was time for me to leave the dance, the man made sure to spell out the web site where his art work is displayed (I can still vividly picture him spelling the word “Zazzle” over and over again). He told me all about the types of products I could purchase that display his art work- from mugs, to mouse pads. I checked out his web site the moment I got home from the dance, and I think his site is the most wonderful thing. This is just one example of how MOSAIC and similar programs work to establish the individuality and independence of their clients. My friend was so happy and proud to tell someone about his work, it really brought a warm-fuzzy to my heart.

So your Two Hands Tuesday mission is threefold-

1. Check out my friend’s art work at, http://www.zazzle.com/happyart4u.

2. Capture the happiness of his art and smile more today.

3. Find a company in your community that is similar to MOSAIC, check out their calendar of events, and volunteer at something simple. You will bring a WORLD of happiness to the people who you meet.

4 thoughts on “Happy Art 4 U

  1. It’s always refreshing when you’re able to be around a bunch of people completely enjoying an activity, and each other’s company. Although I can’t say that I’m a backstreet boy’s fan, I probably would’ve been unable to stop my own behind from shaking to their twitterpating boy-band classics.

    I can tell that you are very goal oriented and focused on the task at hand. This really translates well with your missions for your readers, they make me want to pick up a shovel, put on a smile, and help build a better world.

    You can add my hand to the hands creating Change.

    • Thanks for your kind words, Kevin! I really feel that you understand the goals of my posts- to motivate others into action by speaking about the parallels that I see between happiness and service.

  2. I am currently living with people with disabilities through an organization called L’Arche. Similar to MOSIAC, we try to make independence a more feasible option for our housemates. They too love art and I have found that sometimes all they need is a bit of appreciation, something that is willing to look at their website and show support. Thanks for the good work you are doing!

    • Diana, I am so happy that you found my blog so that I can also read about your life. Working with individuals with intellectual disabilities is truly one of the most rewarding experiences that has crossed my path. I recently finished my practicum in Social Work working with this demographic, and I had the best year! Art was a daily activity, as was appreciation of our clients’ strengths, including and especially individuality. I commend you on the work you are doing! You are such a wonderful person.

Leave a Reply

